Rockdale County Updates the Community on the Bond Referendum Review Committee



October 3, 2018


Rockdale County Updates the Community on the Bond Referendum Review Committee


ROCKDALE COUNTY, GA – After consideration of the public’s input on the recent $140 bond referendum, the Board of Commissioners selected a diverse group of community members to serve on a committee with the goal of moving the project forward.


During the first meeting of the committee on July 24th Director of Recreation and Maintenance Sue Sanders detailed the process the County has outlined.  The committee has been asked to develop a recommendation on the future of the project with the assistance of Jones, Lang, Lasalle, a consultant based in Atlanta.  They are required to take a tour of the current Courthouse, hold open forums and conduct a survey to get community input before submitting a recommendation to the Board of Commissioners. Items that they have been asked to address in their recommendation are location, cost, consolidation of government and judicial functions as well as the need for a parking deck and green space.


“The citizens spoke strongly in favor of more citizen engagement, involvement and input on major community items that will have a direct impact on our overall population.  Myself and the Board of Commissioners all agreed that we needed to place this effort in the hands of the citizenry,” said Chairman Nesbitt.  “We are doing that with this committee.  Multiple viewpoints on the project are represented by this group.  It was important to have representation from those in favor and those critical for the process to be successful.  We look forward to this committee bringing us a workable, feasible and reasonable solution that is supported by the people of Rockdale County.”


Member of the committee are as follows: Ahmad Muddessar, Art Darr, Carter Rogers, Charlie Staples, Darlene Hotchkiss, Deidre Murray, Demetrius Myatt, Don Meyer, Donald Murphy, Albert Murray, Faye Phillips, Fred Straub, Garvin Haynes, Jae Harrison, Janice Van Ness, Jay Grover, John Bowers, Ken Holmes, Maria Brown, Michael Grubbs, Mike Houchard, Rogers Gotier, Stacy Bonner, Terry Moore, Tim Hogg, Thomas Dean and Bill Campbell.  Mr. Dean and Mr. Campbell will serve as co-chairs of the committee.


The group began meeting bi-weekly on August 7th.  The meetings are on Tuesdays at the JP Carr Community Room from 6-8 PM.  The committee has been asked to come back with their recommendation in January of 2019.  For information on the project, please contact Director Sue Sanders at (770) 278-7223.